My Family

15 Nov

While chatting with my sister today I found out our half-brother is getting married( he is between my sister and i) he is two years younger than me and a year older than my baby sister. I am happy for him but I think he is a little too young to get married any way who am I to give advice. My Dad has five children (three boys and two girls) from three different women (my mum being his legally wedded wife). I am not close to any of my half-brothers as we did not grow up with them but my siblings and I are very close (we sound and look-alike). We have the same friends and even hang out together.

So when I heard the news, I thought, my Dad’s legitimate children are not getting married any time soon. Dad’s eldest son who is in his early forties has six children (you should have seen my eyes pop when I found out). My brother (who I love dearly) is the only one who seems to always be in long-lasting stable relationships while my sister and I are confused or many times simply want to be single. Dad has mentioned many times that he does not want bride price, because we are big-headed and if our husbands decides to mistreat us in any way we are free to go back home any time we want(you have to love my Dad).

One reason we are not really into marriage is we are under no pressure to get married from our parents. My mum treated me like a fourteen year old until I moved country, now I am treated like a nineteen year old! Currently my sister is the only one who lives with my parents as my brother lives in another part of Uganda (he sort of moved to do University and transitioned into work).

What I have learnt about marriage from my parents is it is not a bed of roses, if you not ready to crucify yourself do not bother walking down that road as you have to die every day and it will not always be colored, there is a lot of black and white and even grey areas. I have learnt that even the greatest men will hurt you (and the other way round). The question is are you willing to work through your differences. My parents are best friends, every evening they talk about how each other’s days went and don’t need us to entertain them. When my Dad is out-of-town Mum came be very grumpy and for Dad he goes into silent mode.

My mum is moving country this month to follow her dreams and I have renewed respect for my Dad as he has always allowed her (and us) to follow our dreams and speak our minds.

I hope I find a man who is half a man as you are and I hope I will be half the parents you are to me.

18 Responses to “My Family”

  1. Ug girl November 15, 2011 at 12:40 pm #

    ” My mum treated me like a fourteen year old until I moved country, now I am treated like a nineteen year old! “..

    hehehe same story different cast – do you want to trade families..:-)) (Joxes)

  2. pinkauto November 15, 2011 at 1:00 pm #

    Hahaha…… i would not trade my family for any thing in the world! I am glad i am not the only one treated like a fourteen year old even after finishing uni!

  3. rethots November 15, 2011 at 8:02 pm #

    Smiles….

  4. Miz Page November 21, 2011 at 7:48 am #

    🙂

    You’ll be better than them and then some.

    • pinkauto November 21, 2011 at 10:18 am #

      Awww….. merci cherie, i am looking forward to being a mother(and friend)

  5. squareholeroundpeg007 November 22, 2011 at 1:32 pm #

    I like the way you write. It’s very candid, and you make your insults so polite you have no idea you’ve been insulted till three or so days later…hehe. And it’s all very mysterious and sophisticated….the French, working in a different country. I find you interesting both as a writer and as a person-a very rare combination. Bisous(es).

    • pinkauto November 22, 2011 at 1:48 pm #

      🙂 Merci for reading my rummblings ‘you make your insults so polite you have no idea you’ve been insulted till three or so days later’ after trying the in your face talk, i just rubbed people the wrong way. So being polite goes a long way. Bisous(is already in plural lol)

      • squareholeroundpeg007 November 22, 2011 at 2:19 pm #

        See? There you go being polite again.

      • pinkauto November 22, 2011 at 2:47 pm #

        Really? 🙂 Ugandans are generally polite…..

      • squareholeroundpeg007 November 22, 2011 at 3:06 pm #

        I have not had the pleasure of visiting the country, or interacting with one, so I’ll have to take your word for it.

      • pinkauto November 22, 2011 at 4:08 pm #

        Really? You should visit chances are you might not want to go back. I have been to Kenya and i must admit i found the people a tad bit impolite and every thing looked grey! I think my fav city will always be Kisumu.

  6. Sibo November 22, 2011 at 1:33 pm #

    “i would not trade my family for any thing in the world! ” Me too!
    You will be amazing!

    • pinkauto November 22, 2011 at 1:38 pm #

      Awww…. Merci Mon aime. God knew and did not let us choose our family, otherwise we would make huge mistakes in that regard!

  7. Sibo November 30, 2011 at 11:25 am #

    Tu parles francais aussi! Magnifique!

    • pinkauto November 30, 2011 at 11:45 am #

      Oui, je parle français mais c’est peu. Comment es-tu mon ami.

  8. Sibo December 1, 2011 at 6:29 am #

    Tres bien. Tu vas comment toi? Bonne journee!

  9. pinkauto December 1, 2011 at 7:09 am #

    Je vais bien, toi aussi bonne journee.

Leave a Reply

